Congresswoman Tenney's Bipartisan Resolution Expressing Support for Iranian Protestors Passes House of Representatives

Government and Politics

January 25, 2023

Congresswoman Tenney's Bipartisan Resolution Expressing Support for Iranian Protestors Passes House of Representatives

Washington, DC – Congresswoman Claudia Tenney’s (NY-24) resolution commending the bravery, courage, and resolve of the women and men of Iran who are demonstrating in more than 133 cities against the Iranian regime's human rights abuses today passed the House by a vote of 420-1. 

On September 16, 2022, 22-year-old Mahsa Amini was detained by the morality police for violating the country’s strict dress codes. She later died in custody. Her death sparked mass protests across the country, sparking a heavy-handed regime response. Hundreds of protestors have been killed by regime security forces. Thousands more have been detained on trumped-up charges, and many of those in custody, especially women, have been subjected to cruel and inhumane torture.

Tenney’s resolution, which she introduced alongside Congressman Josh Gottheimer (NJ-5) and Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Michael McCaul (TX-10), was cosponsored by more than 60 members of Congress. In addition to expressing support for the courageous Iranian protestors demonstrating for their freedoms, the resolution also condemns the brutal beating and death of Mahsa Amini as well as the violent suppression by the Iranian regime of women and men participating in the current demonstrations.

Click here to watch the full remarks of Tenney’s floor speech. 

“The murderous regime in Iran continues its violent crackdown on its citizens’ rights and civil liberties,” said Congresswoman Tenney. “Today, the House reaffirmed with one voice our commitment to support these brave protestors, who are more resolved than ever to fight this regime. These courageous Iranians are demanding a government that respects their rights at home, stops funding terrorism abroad and makes peace with its neighbors. They are demanding a future built on freedom, justice, the rule of law, and prosperity. This resolution makes clear that the U.S. House of Representatives stands with them and that the United States will continue to do all it can to hold the regime, which is the world’s leading state sponsor of terrorism, accountable.” 

“I am proud to join Congresswoman Tenney in leading this important bipartisan resolution re-affirming support for the brave Iranian men and women speaking out against the Iranian regime’s human rights abuses,” said Chairman McCaul. “As the regime continues to escalate its violent crackdown, we must continue to do all we can to support the Iranian people’s right to self-determination and ensure the regime is held to account for its crimes. That means no sanctions relief for the regime, and fully enforcing all of our existing sanctions.”

“Iran is the world's leading state-sponsor of terror. We must stand with the brave people of Iran as they fight back against the oppressive Iranian regime and their human rights abuses,” said Congressman Gottheimer. “With this bipartisan resolution passing the House today, we're making clear that we support those brave individuals committed to freedom and human rights, both in Iran and around the world. Now, I urge the Senate to pass this bipartisan bill so that it can get to the President's desk."

Additional co-sponsors include Representatives Scott Peters, Elise Stefanik, Dan Crenshaw, Maria Salazar, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Brian Fitzpatrick, Mike Waltz, Josh Gottheimer, Chrissy Houlahan, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Michael McCaul, Don Beyer, Joe Wilson, Rob Wittman, Doug Lamborn, Eric Swalwell, Steve Cohen, David Trone, Susie Lee (NV), Bill Foster, Gerry Connolly, Brad Schneider, David Cicilline, Barbara Lee (CA), Jim Costa, Darrell Issa, Dina Titus, Jim Himes, Mike Levin, Steve Womack, John Rutherford, Joseph Morelle, Jan Schakowsky, Jerry Carl, Ami Bera, Ted Lieu, Greg Murphy (NC), Jennifer Wexton, Andy Kim (NJ), Katie Porter, Mark Pocan, David Joyce (OH), Nancy Mace, Guy Reschenthaler, Brian Mast, Jake Ellzey, Angie Craig, Jared Huffman, Ro Khanna, Kathy Manning, Mike Lawler, Derek Kilmer, Nikema Williams, Kevin Kiley, Haley Stevens, Darren Soto, David Scott, Lauren Boebert, Mikie Sherrill, Dusty Johnson, Rich McCormick, Shri Thanedar, and Nick Langworthy.