Docomomo US Modernism Award Winners Announced

Clubs and Organizations

February 26, 2014

Docomomo US is pleased to announce the winners of the inaugural Modernism in America Awards. The juried Awards celebrate the documentation, preservation and re-use of modern buildings, structures and landscapes built in the United States or on U.S. territory. One Award of Excellence was given in each of the three categories: Design, Inventory/Survey, and Advocacy. Five Citations of Merit were selected. Modernism in America prizes will be awarded during the Docomomo US National Symposium March 13-15, 2014 in Houston, Texas.
Design Award of Excellence: Furnace Creek Visitor Center at Death Valley National Park

Original Architects: Cecil Doty, National Park Service; Welton Becket & Associates, San Francisco, CA

Restoration Team: National Park Service, Denver Service Center (Project Manager/Property Owner); Architectural Resources Group, Inc. (Architect); and AMEC Environment & Infrastructure Inc. (Project Management, Engineering, and Landscape Architecture)
Survey Award of Excellence: Curating the City: Modern Architecture in L.A. Website

Team: Los Angeles Conservancy (project lead), Historic Resources Group (data collection facilitators), Architectural Resources Group, Inc. (content), Alan Hess (content), ThinkShout (web development) and YYES (graphic design)
Advocacy Award of Excellence: Peavey Plaza

Original Designers: M. Paul Friedberg + Partners

Advocacy Team: Preservation Alliance of Minnesota (PAM), The Cultural Landscape Foundation (TCLF) and Docomomo US/Minnesota
Citations of Merit - In addition to the Awards of Excellence, a number of projects in all three categories were recognized with a Citation of Merit.

- Design Citation of Merit: The Arboretum (formerly the Garden Grove Community Church). Restoration Team: The Roman Catholic Diocese of Orange (owner), LPA Inc. (architect), Cannon Building (general contractor) Davis Partners/Hager Pacific Properties (construction managers) and Lamprecht archiTEXTural (consulting architect)

- Advocacy Citation of Merit:  Miami Marine Stadium. Team: Friends of Miami Marine Stadium

- Survey Citation of Merit: North Carolina Modernist Houses, Inc. Team: George Smart, North Carolina Modernist Houses, Inc

- Design Citation of Merit: Stillman and Huvelle Houses, Litchfield, CT. Restoration Team: Joseph Mazzaferro and Kenneth Sena

- Design Citation of Merit: Trenton Bath House and Day Camp Pavilions. Restoration Team: Farewell Mills Gatsch Architects, LLC (Project Management, Design, Preservation - now Mills + Schnoering Architects, LLC), Heritage Landscapes (Landscape Architecture), Wu & Associates, Inc. (Restoration Contractor), Mercer County Division of Planning, Susan Solomon, PhD, Keast & Hood Co. (Structural Engineering), Joseph R. Loring & Associates (MEP Engineering), The RBA Group (Civil Engineering), Gilbane (Cost Estimating), De Sapio Construction, Inc. (Contractor - Snack Bar)

The Modernism in America Awards is the first national program of its kind to celebrate the projects and the people working to sensitively preserve and rehabilitate significant mid-century modern buildings for continued productive use and to raise public awareness of the ongoing threats to modern architecture and design. The program seeks to acknowledge the substantial economic and cultural impact such projects had and continue to have on our local communities and to set a standard for how preserving modern architecture can be accomplished. Through the awards program, Docomomo US seeks to bring attention to the many successful local, regional and national projects and thereby elevate an appreciation for the value of modern architecture to our cultural and architectural history. Theodore Prudon FAIA, president of Docomomo US states, "The quality and variety of the nominated projects submitted for the inaugural year of the Docomomo US Modernism in America Awards is inspiring and speaks to the increasing interest in the cultural value mid-century modern architecture brings to the United States."
The independent design and survey prize jury was chaired by James Polshek, FAIA, founding partner of Polshek Partnership Architects and former Dean of the Columbia University School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation. Renowned modern architecture authors, educators and speakers also on the jury included:  Alice Friedman, the Grace Slack McNeil Professor of the History of American Art at Wellesley College and author of "American Glamour and the Evolution of Modern Architecture"; Joseph Heathcott, professor of urban studies and design at The New School in New York; Donna Robertson, FAIA, partner of macro design (formerly Robertson McAnulty Architects) and professor of architecture and former Dean of the College of Architecture at the Illinois Institute of Technology; Marc Treib, Professor Emeritus of Architecture at the University of California- Berkeley and author of the forthcoming "Landscapes of Modern Architecture: Wright, Mies, Neutra, Aalto, Barragán."
The advocacy jury was chaired by Jack Pyburn, FAIA, partner of Lord Aeck Sargent and adjunct professor at Georgia Institute of Technology's College of Architecture. The Docomomo US Board of Directors completed the jury.