Florida Democrats Secure Victories In Two Florida Senate Seats, Nine House Democrats Win Re-Election

Government and Politics

June 14, 2024

On Friday, nine incumbent Florida Democrats secured re-election to the House and two Democratic candidates won Senate seats. Carlos Guillermo Smith clinched victory in Senate District 17, joining Mack Bernard in the Florida Senate following his win in the special election for Senate District 24. 

“Today, we sent 10 champions back to Tallahassee to continue the fight, holding onto key seats in the Florida House and electing two new dynamic leaders to the Florida Senate,” said FDP Chair Nikki Fried. “And Republicans didn’t even put up a fight, leaving 22 seats uncontested.”

“I want to specifically congratulate FDP-endorsed candidate Carlos Guillermo Smith on running a campaign that truly showed that Florida is worth fighting for. Republicans did not field a candidate in his race because of the strength of his campaign and unbeatable grassroots team. The Senator-elect has a proven record of holding the DeSantis administration accountable and we welcome his return to the Florida legislature.” 

“I am also proud to welcome State Senator-elect Mack Bernard, succeeding State Senator Bobby Powell to continue serving the people of Senate District 24 as a strong voice in Tallahassee.”