Governor Laura Kelly Appoints Andrea Swisher and Amy Taylor Norton to New District Court Positions in the 28th Judicial District

Government and Politics

September 30, 2022

From: Kansas Governor Laura Kelly

TOPEKA – Governor Laura Kelly on Sep 30th, appointed Andrea Swisher of Lindsborg and Amy Taylor Norton of Salina to two judgeship positions in the 28th Judicial District. The positions were created through 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill 267, the bipartisan budget plan; and Kansas Supreme Court Administrative Order 2022-JA-020

“Both Andrea and Amy are well-qualified for these positions. Andrea has handled a diverse case load during her significant time spent in the courtroom, and Amy has been a fervent advocate for victims in her work prosecuting high-level felonies like sex crimes and homicides,” Governor Kelly said. “I am confident they will use their experience to serve justice on the bench of the 28th District.”

Andrea Swisher is the owner of Swisher Law LLC. She is active in the legal community with her membership in the Saline-Ottawa County Bar Association and the McPherson County Bar Association. Swisher earned her juris doctor from the Washburn University School of Law.

“I am honored to be selected as a judge for the 28th Judicial District. I have practiced in the 28th Judicial District my entire career and have built strong relationships with court personnel, colleagues, and the communities within the Judicial District,” Swisher said. “I look forward to continuing my service as a judge.” 

Amy Taylor Norton is an Assistant Attorney General for the Kansas Attorney General Office’s Criminal Litigation Division. She earned her juris doctor from the Washburn University School of Law.

“As an attorney who has dedicated my career to public service, I believe it is of utmost importance that a judge ensures that all those who come before the Court are treated with equal dignity, fairness, and respect,” Norton said. “I am incredibly humbled to have been selected and look forward to this opportunity to use my skills and experience to continue to serve my community from the bench.”

District court judges in the 28th Judicial District are appointed by the governor and selected from nominees chosen by a district nominating commission. Judges in nominating commission districts are subject to retention elections every four years.

The other nominees selected by the district nominating commission were Samantha Angell and W. Brad Sutton.