Nominate Your CT Arts Hero Today!

Clubs and Organizations

July 4, 2022

From: Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont

The Connecticut Arts Hero Awards honor and celebrate Connecticut residents who are doing inspiring things in, for or through the arts in Connecticut.

Since 2016, the Connecticut Arts Hero Awards have introduced us to an array of remarkable individuals engaged in or supporting the arts - some publicly and some behind the scenes.  The first Arts Hero Award was presented in 2016 to our very own grant administrator, Lourdes "Lu" Rivera, who has worked in the state's arts office through its many name changes and merges.  This year, she will be celebrating her 34-year anniversary with the arts office!

If you know a special someone, like our Lu, who has contributed significantly to the arts in Connecticut, please take a moment to nominate this individual. 

The deadline to submit a nomination is Wednesday, September 21, 2022 at 11:59 p.m.

We look forward to learning about YOUR Arts Hero!

Note: Arts Heroes are not awarded posthumously.


The Connecticut Arts Hero Awards will be presented at a special, open-to-all, free event on Wednesday, January 18, 2023 at 6:00 PM at Infinity Hall in Hartford. This evening event is designed to honor and celebrate these inspiring individuals and to reaffirm the significant role the arts play in Connecticut. Please save the date!

Past Connecticut Arts Heroes

Below is a list of past Arts Heroes.

Learn more about their amazing work by Clicking HERE.

Jasmin Agosto, 2021

Mark Aldrich, 2018

Andrea Aron, 2019

Adam Atkins, 2017

Rebecca Atkins, 2019

Chris Belden, 2019

Wendy Black-Nasta, 2017

Andew Camacho, 2021

Brian Cohen, 2020

Shelby Davis, 2021

Semina De Laurentis, 2020

Bill Dougal, 2019

Leslie Elias, 2018

Marti Etter, 2021

Jason Farquharson, 2019

Lucy Gellman, 2020

Dr. Jose Gonzalez, 2018

Mohamed Hafez, 2018

Aaron Jafferis, 2017

Bruce John, 2017

Calida Jones, 2018

Suzanne Kachmar, 2017

Kerry Kincy, 2021

Edward Lent, 2020

Luciana McClure, 2019

Judith McElhone, 2019

Marilyn Malcarne, 2020

Shanna Melton, 2018

Elizabeth Morgan, 2018

Angaza and Effie Mwando, 2021

Lynnette Letsky Piombo, 2017

Kerri Quirk, 2018

Lourdes "Lu" Rivera, 2016

Daniela L. Sikora, 2021

Rene Soto, 2019

Dayna Snell, 2017

Terry Starks, 2020

Allison Stockel, 2017

Kim Stroud, 2018

Joy Supples, 2017

Chase Taylor, 2019

JoAnne Torti, 2020

Brian Walters, 2020

Kim Weston, 2021

Derron Wood, 2020

"I think a hero is any person really intent on making this a better place for all people."

- Maya Angelou