Westfield Community receives 10 Perry Nominations

Arts and Entertainment

July 21, 2012

From: Westfield Community Players

Westfield Community Players (WCP) of Westfield, NJ recently received 10 Perry Awards nominations at the NJACT (New Jersey Association of Community Theaters) nominating ceremony held at Mainstreet Theatre Company in Parlin, NJ on Saturday, July 21, 2012.

The NJACT Perry Awards are given for outstanding achievements in community theater. At the beginning of each season, NJACT member theaters submit their shows for award consideration. Two reviewers attend each production and evaluate all on-stage aspects of the performance. Each reviewer provides separate numerical scores for over 50 different criteria across 10 different review categories. More than 200 shows produced by theater companies around the state are submitted each year, which require over 400 reviews by trained NJACT volunteers.

Westfield Community Players received all 10 nominations for its' January production of Rehearsal for Murder in the following catergories:

Outstanding Production of a Play: Steven Lemenille, Producer; Brian Remo, Director
Outstanding Director of a Play: Brian Remo
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Play: Angel Duncan
Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play: Steve Lemenille
Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play: Ami Martino
Outstanding Properties of a Play: JoAnne Lemenille
Outstanding Costume Design of a Play: Naomi Yablonsky
Outstanding Scenic Design of a Play: Bill McMeekan; Brian Remo
Outstanding Lighting Design of a Play: Jessica Foerst
Outstanding Sound Design of a Play: Glen Crane

In most recent years Westfield Community Players has been the recipient of other Perry Nominations. In 2011, Steve Lemenille received a Perry Award Nomination as OUTSTANDING FEATURED ACTOR IN A PLAY for Abie's Irish Rose and Janet Swaim was nominated as OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTRESS IN A MUSICAL for I Love You, You're Perfect, Now Change. The same year, Steve Lemenille also received a Perry Award Nomination as OUTSTANDING SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A PLAY , And Then There Were None (for Main Street Theatre Company).

In 2010, a Perry Award Nomination for OUTSTANDING YOUTH ACTOR IN A PLAY went to Filip Wojcik for Caught in the Net.

The year 2009 saw four Perry Award Nominations for WCP. They were OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A PLAY going to Bob Mackasek for Death of a Salesman, OUTSTANDING ENSEMBLE ACTOR IN A PLAY to Steve Lemenille for Fools, OUTSTANDING MUSICAL DIRECTION going to Larry Rothweiler for Little Mary Sunshine and OUTSTANDING COSTUME DESIGN FOR A PLAY to Anna MacNiven for Fools.

Back in 2008 Perry Award Nominations for OUTSTANDING LIGHTING DESIGN OF A PLAY went to Bob Murray for Born Yesterday, and OUTSTANDING FEATURED ACTRESS IN A PLAY to Mary Quinn for The Uninvited.

In 2007, a Perry Award Nomination for OUTSTANDING ENSEMBLE ACTRESS IN A PLAY went to Jackie Weiner for Angel Street. Perry Award winning recipients that year were Dawn Clavert for OUTSTANDING ENSEMBLE ACTRESS IN A PLAY for Rumors; Betty Hetherington & Naomi Yablonsky for OUTSTANDING COSTUME DESIGN FOR PLAY for Angel Street.

Westfield Community Players is proud of its commitment to producing quality theatrical productions since 1936 for its' subscribers and audiences. WCP's upcoming 2012-13, which opens in October, follows its commitment to this mission by offering the comedy, The Fox on the Fairway, to be directed by John Correll and produced by Sally Brown, the comedy, The Dixie Swim Club, to be directed by Wanda S. Maragni and produced by JoAnne Lemenille, the Pulitzer Prize Award play, Proof, to be directed by Steve Lemenille, and closing with the musical, Olympus on My Mind, directed by Drude Roessler and produced by Kay Macrae.

For more information about Westfield Community Players, please visit our web site at www.westfieldcommunityplayers.org