Anna Jaques Hospital

25 Highland Avenue
978-463-1000

Our mission
To provide the highest quality medical care and improve the health of our community in alliance with our medical staff.
Our History
Through the vision and charity of Miss Anna Jaques, our hospital was established in 1884. In 1883, she sought the advice of her family physician, Dr. F. A. Howe, on how best to use her money for the benefit of the community. He told her that the community needed a hospital. As a result Anna Jaques gave $25,000 and plans were drawn up for Newburyport’s first hospital, originally located at the corner of Broad and Monroe Streets.
On May 7, 1884 the first patient was admitted to Anna Jaques Hospital. By 1901 the hospital's original building had become inadequate. Plans began to take shape and three years later in 1904 the Georgian Revival building that stands to this day was opened at 25 Highland Avenue in Newburyport. That "new" hospital remains the centerpiece, and proud historic front, of Anna Jaques Hospital today. Although many hospital expansions, and an attractive neighborhood, have grown up around the hospital, the original building stands as a testament to one woman's, and one physician's, commitment to the community and its needs.



Reviews

Carleigh

Rating:
Monday, July 16, 2018
Wonderful maternity wing! The nurses, midwives, and doctors were all incredible and compassionate. So glad we made the choice to deliver here. Special shout out to the delivery nurses for their attention and support during the whole ordeal. The rooms are clean and spacious and the food is pretty good.

Mark M

Rating:
Tuesday, June 26, 2018
We strongly recommend using any other birth center. There are two in Beverly. At Anna Jaques the doctors give birth during the day time and there is a doctor on staff with the nickname "The Butcher". He has a track record to justify the name. If this doesn't bother you, they require many unnecessary test in an effort to make more money and if you try to refuse the test they threaten to mark you has a high risk birth and drop you as a patient. They are frequently running 30 minutes or more behind. They have an extremely lax interpretation of HIPAA.

Rebecca

Rating:
Friday, March 30, 2018
My doctor’s office is affiliated with the hospital and I have gone for blood work and diagnostic image tests. I’m always impressed with their efficiency and how nice and kind all of the staff are. I love that you can pre-register for some tests and just walk right in—I’ve never had a long wait. Found the facility to be clean and pleasant.

russell bowden

Rating:
Saturday, July 7, 2018
I had knee replacement surgery and a 3 day stay in the hospital. Dr. Matteos and surgical team were awesome, I couldn't have got better care from them and the hospital staff the whole stay there. I'll have my other knee done there too.

Tate Shippen

Rating:
Monday, Jan. 22, 2018
They were great! Went in early to the ER (which helped as they got quite busy) and they took care of me. Felt very well cared for and attended to all the way from going through fast track to being admitted and finally being discharged a few days later. We also had a great experience a few months ago with their birth center and the birth of our son. Highly recommend the birth center, the nurses and drs were fantastic.

Upcoming Events at Anna Jaques Hospital

Birthing With Hypnosis Class

Saturday, Jul 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Birthing With Hypnosis Class

Saturday, Jul 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Mother and Baby Group

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2018 from 10:00am to 11:45am
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Newborns Class

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2018 from 2:00pm to 3:30pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breast Cancer Support Group

Thursday, Jul 26, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Jul 28, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Sunday, Jul 29, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Mother and Baby Group

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2018 from 10:00am to 11:45am
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breastfeeding Class

Monday, Aug 6, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Mother and Baby Group

Tuesday, Aug 7, 2018 from 10:00am to 11:45am
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Newborn Care Class

Sunday, Aug 12, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Mother and Baby Group

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2018 from 10:00am to 11:45am
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Aug 18, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Sunday, Aug 19, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Mother and Baby Group

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2018 from 10:00am to 11:45am
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Mother and Baby Group

Tuesday, Aug 28, 2018 from 10:00am to 11:45am
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breast Cancer Support Group

Thursday, Aug 30, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Sep 8, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Sibling Preparation Class

Sunday, Sep 9, 2018 from 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Newborn Care Class

Sunday, Sep 16, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Infant Massage Class

Sunday, Sep 16, 2018 from 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breastfeeding Class

Monday, Sep 17, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Birthing with Hypnosis

Saturday, Sep 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Birthing With Hypnosis Class

Saturday, Sep 22, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Sunday, Sep 23, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Sep 29, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breastfeeding Class

Monday, Oct 1, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Oct 20, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Sunday, Oct 21, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Sleep Apnea and CPAP Support Group

Thursday, Oct 25, 2018 from 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Infant Massage Class

Sunday, Nov 4, 2018 from 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breastfeeding Class

Monday, Nov 5, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Nov 10, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Birthing With Hypnosis Class

Sunday, Nov 11, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Sunday, Nov 18, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Saturday, Dec 1, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Newborn Care Class

Sunday, Dec 2, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Breastfeeding Class

Monday, Dec 3, 2018 from 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Childbirth Education Class

Sunday, Dec 9, 2018 from 9:00am to 12:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Sibling Preparation Class

Sunday, Dec 9, 2018 from 1:00pm to 2:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »

Birthing With Hypnosis Class

Saturday, Dec 15, 2018 from 10:00am to 5:00pm
Newburyport, MA
Read More »