In the late 19th century, a group of Baptists in Worcester felt moved by the Holy Spirit to establish a Christian witness in the vicinity of Lincoln Square. In the spring of 1879, a Sunday School was started in a small hall at 1 Main St. The interest and the enthusiasm grew considerably so that, by 1881, formal steps were taken to organize a church. And so, on April 4, 1881, the Lincoln Square Baptist Church was officially formed with 31 charter members. By April 1892, only 11 years later, the church had grown to 435 members. The Church remained a vibrant witness of Christ to the community.
In 1956, the state took over the church land and building by eminent domain in order to make way for an addition to the Worcester County Courthouse. After considerable negotiations with the City and the expert help of members, the Church was sold and new property was purchased on 475 Burncoat Street for a new building. The Building Committee oversaw all the work that resulted in a beautiful new Sanctuary for the congregation. At that time in 1956, the Church was renamed “The Burncoat Baptist Church”.
Burncoat Baptist Church has held fast to the mission to spread the Good News of the Gospels to a world that desperately needs to hear the truth found in God’s Word. We would be happy to have you join in that same mission with us..