Folger Theatre

Folger Theatre
201 East Capitol Street South East

Each year, Folger Theatre produces a three-play season of innovative productions, designed to forge strong connections with modern audiences while continuing the lively legacy of Shakespearean stagecraft.  While Shakespeare is central to its mission, the Theatre has produced a variety of other classical works, as well as new plays related to or inspired by Shakespeare. 

Since 1992, Folger Theatre, led by Artistic Producer Janet Alexander Griffin, has staged more than half of the plays in Shakespeare's First Folio. Folger Theatre has received 135 nominations and 24 Helen Hayes Awards, including Outstanding Resident Play for Measure for Measure, Hamlet, and The Taming of the Shrew.

Upcoming Events at Folger Theatre

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Wednesday, Sep 18, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Thursday, Sep 19, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Friday, Sep 20, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Sep 21, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Sep 21, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Sep 22, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Sep 22, 2019 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Tuesday, Sep 24, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Wednesday, Sep 25, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Thursday, Sep 26, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Friday, Sep 27, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Sep 28, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Sep 28, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Sep 29, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Sep 29, 2019 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Tuesday, Oct 1, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Wednesday, Oct 2, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Thursday, Oct 3, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Friday, Oct 4, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Oct 5, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Oct 5, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Oct 6, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Oct 6, 2019 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Tuesday, Oct 8, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Wednesday, Oct 9, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Thursday, Oct 10, 2019 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Friday, Oct 11, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Oct 12, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Saturday, Oct 12, 2019 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Oct 13, 2019 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - Henry IV Part 1

Sunday, Oct 13, 2019 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Jan 14, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Jan 15, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Jan 16, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Jan 17, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Jan 18, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Jan 18, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Jan 19, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Jan 19, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Jan 21, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Jan 22, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Jan 23, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Jan 24, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Jan 25, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Jan 25, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Jan 26, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Jan 26, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Jan 28, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Jan 29, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Jan 30, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Jan 31, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 1, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 1, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 2, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 2, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Feb 4, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Feb 5, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Feb 6, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Feb 7, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 8, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 8, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 9, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 9, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Feb 11, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Feb 12, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Feb 13, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Feb 14, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 15, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 15, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 16, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 16, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Feb 18, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Feb 19, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Feb 20, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Feb 21, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 22, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 22, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 23, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Feb 23, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Tuesday, Feb 25, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Wednesday, Feb 26, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Thursday, Feb 27, 2020 at 7:30pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Friday, Feb 28, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 29, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Saturday, Feb 29, 2020 at 8:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Mar 1, 2020 at 2:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »

Performance - The Merry Wives of Windsor

Sunday, Mar 1, 2020 at 7:00pm
Washington, DC
Read More »