Lower Merion Township was first settled in 1682 by Welsh Quakers who were granted a tract of land by William Penn. In 1713, Lower Merion was established as an independent Township with about 52 landholders and tenants. In 1900, the Township was incorporated as a Township of the First Class.
The Township is committed to preserving the beauty and character of Lower Merion's natural and man-made resources. Lower Merion boasts a comprehensive array of playgrounds, swimming pools, picnic areas, and nature parks on over 25 facilities which encompass more than 665 acres. Playgrounds are equipped with facilities for tennis, baseball, softball, soccer and basketball. The Township also offers supervised recreation programs during the summer and winter months.
Provide year-round first class recreation programs, events, parks and facilities that enhance and enrich the lives of Township residents of all ages.