14 North Washington Street
Muncy is an historic town nestled in the beautiful upper Susquehanna Valley. The town of Muncy is proud of its rich heritage and looks forward to its dynamic future.
The History of Muncy
About 1787, four brothers Silas, William, Benjamin, and Isaac McCarty, came here from Bucks county. They were of Quaker extraction. William and Benjamin bought 300 acres known as the "John Brady farm," and divided it William taking the portion between what is now West Water street and Muncy creek, and Benjamin that portion between West Water street and the southern boundary. Main street now represents what was then the boundary between the Brady farm and Isaac Walton's.
In 1797, ten years after coming to Muncy, Benjamin McCarty conceived the idea of starting a town, and be commenced laying out lots on what is now Main street, and sold them to different parties. His example was followed by his brother William, north of Water street, and by Isaac Walton. The town was named Pennsborough in honor of the Penns.
The town grew slowly and was nothing but a village for many years. More than a quarter of a century passed before an act of incorporation was applied for. Finally, by act approved March 15, 1826, it was incorporated as a borough.
On January 19, 1827, with a population of less than 600, the name was changed from Pennsborough to Muncy. This was done because many persons thought it was "too flat and long," and the new name would be more in accordance with the historical associations of the place, and serve to perpetuate the name of the tribe that first dwelt there, a tribe of Delaware Indians, named Monseys.
Today, Muncy PA has nearly 2700 residence. The friendly citizens are proud of its rich heritage and look forward to its dynamic future