The Tabernacle of Glory Baptist Church has over 120 years of rich history since its inception in 1888. Since this time God has blessed this congregation to be served by 19 of the most anointed and gifted ambassadors. The first ambassador to serve was Rev. Burrus under whom the church was organized as Pilgrim Baptist Church.
The first congregation worshiped in an upstairs area of the the Rock City Ice Cream Company in downtown Nashville. When Rev. Burrus resigned, Rev. R.D. Black became the second pastor. Under Rev. Black's leadership, the Summer Street Baptist Church merged with Pilgrim.
The name "Emmanuel", which means "God with us", was added to the church's name. The church purchased land, and the first church-owned place was built on Peabody Street in 1907. Rev. Black served until death, Rev. C. Ragan then became pastor. He was succeeded by Rev. A.W. Phillips, who served for 22 years.